What’s Love Got to Do with It?

I love you. I love you.I love you.

It doesn’t matter how it’s said, where it’s said, when it’s said or why it’s said the words are the same but the meaning never is. So, what does ‘I love you’ mean and more importantly what’s love got to do with it?

My best friend is a guy. We’ve been best friends for years and years and years and every now and then he’ll tell me he loves me. This is someone I love unconditionally from the bottom of my heart. He knows me better than most people on this Earth and I am more committed to him than just about any other friendship. Yet, I don’t understand at all what he means when he tells me he loves me. On top of that, I don’t understand why he would tell me. What does that have to do with our friendship? What does that have to do with who we are as individuals?

What’s Love Got to Do with It?

My boyfriend is a wonderfully fantastic and amazing person and when it’s appropriate he tells me he loves me.

What’s Love Got to Do with It?

I had a boyfriend a few years ago who told me he loved me so much he had to let me go. He knew he would stifle my life, wouldn’t be able to add to it and would more closely resemble the shade cast over a sunflower causing it to wilt and die then the sun and water he knew I needed to grow as huge as I could become. Even upon his departure he wanted to tel me he loves me. I just don’t understand:

What’s Love Got to Do with It?

My parents say it, my friends say it, my siblings say it, my nephew, aunts, uncles, cousin, grandparents, Godchildren and occasionally one of the students I teach.

I love you is one of the most overused phrases in the English language and I no longer even ponder the meaning but what I wonder most of all is What’s Love Got to Do With It? I mean really?

Hearing that I’m loved is so different than knowing that I’m loved. How many times has the same person who says they love you hurt you so deeply you wonder if they borrowed some of Sylar’s abilities to knock you down and keep you down? But yet, it’s so easy for them to say ‘I love you Sunny.’ To take those words and insert them into your world but still do whatever they want with their life and impact yours in whatever way they choose.

Why say it at all? What’s Love Got to Do with It? I’m still working to figure it out but even as I do I continue hearing that same odd phrase “I love you” and it always keeps me wondering:

What’s Love Got to Do with It?

The power of Pinkberry keeps you connected to my hilarious adventures.

Give Sunny the Scoop!

