Inception

Dear Christopher Nolan,

What’s the most resilient parasite? An Idea. A single idea from the human mind can build cities. An idea can transform the world and rewrite all the rules. Which is why I have to steal it.

From the first word of this movie I was drawn in and by the time this line was uttered I was sitting on the edge of my seat.

Why?

Because the concept behind this movie is that we really don’t know if our reality is the figment of our imaginations or if the figments of our imaginations are our reality. It’s hard to know if we’re waking or dreaming. Did I just wake up from a dream and this is my reality or did I fall asleep and now I’m in the dream waiting to wake up into reality. Amazing. Amazing on so many levels and mainly because Inception takes us deep into the wells of our mind and gives provides an opportunity to question what’s real and what’s dreaming and which we really like more. An idea that is so precious and so secure can be so easily stolen in our dream world because even as we are trying our best to protect it we are pointing right towards it. However, isn’t that reality as well? No matter how many locks, protections and securities we put on the things most valuable to us, they are still the things our heart lead us to each and every time. They are our main vulnerability.

You’re waiting for a train; a train that will take you far away. You know where you hope this train will take you, but you can’t be sure. But it doesn’t matter – because we’ll be together.

A couple of nights ago I awoke from a dream and it was so perfect I wished I could immediately fall back into it and relive it one more time. Instead of immediately facing the reality I replayed the dream in my mind. Creating once again the response to the projection that allowed me, just for a moment, to dream a little longer and feel everything I would be feeling if that dream were real.

Just like at the center of every fantastic story, including a sci-fi one, there is a beautiful woman involved, there is the vulnerability of love. I can understand that because my every dream centers around the love I long to hold in my arms, in my heart, and in my life once again. In a dream I am able to chain that love into the jail of my heart, of my mind, of my unconscious and I am able to relive that love in all it’s perfection time and again. Without any of the imperfections, the complexities, the reality of that love and sometimes…sometimes it’s hard to wake up and face another moment of reality without that love. It’s tempting to stay dreaming, to hang in limbo where you don’t really know where you’re going or what’s on the other side but what is clear is that…

we’ll be together.

Dreams feel real while we’re in them. It’s only when we wake up that we realize something was actually strange.

The architect in Inception is a key piece to the puzzle as this is who creates the scene of the dream. One of my other favorite lines of the movie that I chose not to quote here is when Leonardo DiCaprio is explaining to Ellen Page that the way we know we’re in a dream is we can’t remember how we got here. This is so profound because it’s true, in sleeping we are just dropped into a scene that is the middle of our life. There is no beginning and most often the ending is assumed after we’ve awoken. In the case of the movie the something strange that is most noticeable is when the Japanese businessman lays his face in the rug and immediately recognizes it as created out of a different synthetic fiber than his actual carpet and thus knows he’s still dreaming. In the case of my life, it always feels so real and when I’m in the dreaming the emotion, whether fear, love, indecision, anger, disappointment or even apathy, always seems real.

Inception was an amazing movie and I would suggest you go and you explore this concept as fully as Christopher Nolan has created it. The end is amazing and even as I prepare for sleep tonight I now have a brand new relationship with my dreams and my waking moments.

Love Always,

Sunny

Give Sunny the Scoop!

