Even Silence Has an End

Íngrid Betancourt in Pisa

Image via Wikipedia

Dear Ingrid Betancourt,

I have been so touched, moved and inspired by the story of your six years in captivity inside the Colombian Jungle. I can not even begin to relate to what you have been through but the other night I was reading in my journal and I came across this quote and immediately thought to myself that if there was ever something that could sum up what I’ve learned about you in your book it would be this,

Our God an handle even the worst that can happen to us as finite human beings. Since Christ is beside us, no troubles that life can bring need cast us adrift. This is a knowledge which can release us from lifelong bondage to fear.” – Catherine Marshall

Here’s the thing about me, the thing about human beings really but I’ll just speak on the human being I know the best and sometimes hardly know at all. We are afraid of everything. I am afraid of MOLD if you can believe that.

Yes…mold…

Yet, there is nothing we are more afraid of than death and dying. Naturally, I worry about the death that will one day come upon me. The vast unknown right, even believing in Heaven there’s such an uncertainty that lies beyond this temporary assignment we have been given. Even bigger than that though I worry about the death of my loved ones and how they will leave me in their absence. I’m not obsessed with it but I don’t deny that it’s a niggling in the back of my mind that I can’t ever quite make go away.

Then there’s Ingrid Betancourt. Her story is amazing, she basically goes out for coffee one day (okay, it’s a peace settlement with a group of foreign politicians in middle of a vapid war time but you know what I mean) and never returns. Literally, she kisses her father good-night, hugs her mom, fights with her sister, tucks her children into bed and leaves everything as if she will be home in time for supper, having no idea that she will be held captive for the next six years.  The transformation of her life and her self and her friendships and even her relationships with her loved ones over the course of this book is amazing and awe-inspiring. Ingrid explores what it means to live in a world where all your worst fears have come true and how in the place of fear there is a courage that is able to grow and far supercede anything that would have been possible if left inside the comforts of home.

Ever since reading Bonobo Kisses by Vanessa a few months ago I have steadily grown attached to the understanding that I must do more for my world, not just my country, not just the small world that takes up residence in my heart and my immediate eyesight but for the world at large. Half the Sky by Nicholas Kristoff is full of inspiration beginnings from as small as donating $25 on Kiva to as large as joining the World Teach program to become a teacher of girls in India for a year. I plan to start my journey with the 52 countries of Africa and specifically the women of the Congo who have suffered far more and far longer than we ever could imagine as we regularly turn a blind eye to it, changing the channel when it feels like it has hit too close to home and might interfere with our enjoyable hour of watching Grey’s Anatomy or The Biggest Loser.

I continue to be touched by Even Silence Has an End and once I finish the last 48% (One more reason to love the Kindle, I don’t even know what page I’m on!) I’ll be sure to give you a more affirmative understanding of the direction I am going to take my new passion in life.

 

Love Always,

Sunny

Give Sunny the Scoop!

