Digital Cleanse

Dear Pinkberry,

You know how much I love you but for the next seven days I have to disengage from you. I’m not breaking off our love affair and I’m definitely not leaving you for good but we have to take a break. I know, I know, a break is never the way to go and I’ve always said people are so foolish to use a break as a way to mend a broken relationship but you see with us it’s different. Our relationship is not broken, just overused, overworked and downright unhealthy.

He compares our brains to a hard drive and suggests  that for years our brains have been gathering information from the cyber world and working to store it. Despite being on the verge of shutting down due to information overload Twitter in 2009 has taken us to a whole new level of gathering information and overloading. Much the same way as it is imperative to defragment a hard drive we as humans must defragment all the information over the past year. Thus the importance of the Digital Cleanse.

Communicating through social networks and texting has become the next best substitute to picking up the phone and making a phone call and it is time to take back that age-old routine that actually allowed people to connect with one another. So for one week I’ll be defragmenting my mental and psychological hard drive and I invite you all to participate.

The guidelines are simple:

*email only from laptop or desktop computers

*cell phones can only be used to make calls, and no text messages or e-mails are allowed – if you receive a text, you must reply in voice over the phone. E-mails must be returned from a laptop or desktop computer.

*no use of Twitter or any other social networking site – this includes reading as well as posting.

*no visiting of any entertainment or gossip sites. (No need to detail which ones – you know what they are.)

I invite you to share your thoughts about this digital cleanse and COMMENT directly to this post. Are you in or are you out? In your mind is the idea brilliant or is it crazy? It’s the start of  New Year, does this make sense to add to one of my many other goals or do you think I’ll be texting and perusing Facebook and Twitter by Wednesday?

In addition, I am taking on the Blog Challenge and posting a Blog a Week through 2011. I know, I know it’s not exactly the best thing to be setting a goal like this but what differs between this goal and the 30 day challenge is that I’m take it on as a guideline. I should be posting a post a week so this works for me.

I’ve decided I want to blog more. Rather than just thinking about doing it, I’m just starting now and you will see at least one blog a week for all of 2011.

I know it won’t be easy, but it might be fun, inspiring, awesome and wonderful.Therefore I’m promising to make use of The DailyPost, and the community of other bloggers with similar goals, to help me along the way, including asking for help when I need it and encouraging others when I can.

If you already read my blog, I hope you’ll encourage me with comments and likes, and goodwill along the way.

Love Always,

Sunny

 

Give Sunny the Scoop!

