Dear President Clinton,

You are a symbolic figure who was publicly caught and publicly annihilated for what you did in private and the thing is that while the entire American public threw up their scarlet letters in disgust and quickly threw rocks while living in a glass house, you are not the only one who has some version of a white house romp in your history.

I’ve been watching Scandal on repeat recently (there’s only 7 episodes and I can’t get enough of them) and in the very first episode it’s revealed that the president is having an affair with a white house intern and the reason Olivia Pope knows is because the president repeated the same lies to her that he’d once professed to Olivia Pope. The thing about it is that it doesn’t have to be the president for it to be scandalous, any clandestine affair between a man and a woman, whether it involves a cigar and a blue dress or not, is the equivalent of our own personal Lewinsky Gate.

In college, I met a man that I thought was the love of my life. When you’re 18 you think that often and at 21 years old I didn’t think that quite as often but I still believed in an American Dream. At that point in my life I still believed in soulmates and white picket fences and 2 1/2 kids and a dog. So when I met my President and he called me Sweet Baby I believed everything he said, I believed that he would be in my life for the rest of my life and I believed when he said he loved me. I ignored the wife he already had, even the child they’d already produced because all I could hear was him calling me Sweet Baby and I ignored my gut, I ignored my instinct, because I wanted to.

It’s amazing how many smart intelligent, driven women find themselves in this very predicament and while we would all sit around at happy hour with our single girlfriends swearing stupidity upon the very women who are the “other women” in affairs, who so willingly get themselves involved in situations that could not possibly end well, many of us leave at the end of the night thinking about the one who calls us Sweet Baby, some of us even going to him at the end of the night.

It’s been said the heart doesn’t do what the mind tells it to and we can’t help who we fall in love with. Even if that means the one we love is the President of the United States and the only way to see him is in the Oval Office with a blue dress and a cigar. What would you give up to be with the one you love? If you couldn’t have him in his entirety would you still want him? Are you willing to wait for him to fulfill on all the many promises he makes you before going home to his wife and family each night while you go home alone?

Love Always,

Sunny

Give Sunny the Scoop!

